Polaron.de Apps Overview Napo / Virtual Organ Apps de en

Zell ET / MT

App Version: 1.3 / 1.2
Napo Version: 4.21 / 4.20

released 2018-06-13 / 2018-02-28

Audiobus Compatible

About the Apps

Zell ET ("Equal Temperament") and Zell MT ("Meantone Temperament") are two iOS applications which allow you to play the sample sets of the Christian Zell harpsichord of the Museu de la Música de Barcelona on a MIDI keyboard connected to your iOS device. Both apps are based on the Napo framework. Please read the Napo documentation and in particular the Napo user manual to learn about its features and limitations.

Furthermore, there is an app bundle with Zell ET and Zell MT for the same price as a single app. So if you purchase one of the apps, you can later by "bundle completion" download the other one for free. If you would like to use only one of the apps, you need to download only that one and thus can save storage space on the device.

Zell ET Zell MT Zell ET + Zell MT

Originally, Napo is tailored for organ instruments. Therefore the following remarks:

It should be noted that Zell ET is retuned to 440 Hz while Zell MT is based on 415 Hz like the original instrument. This can be changed with the pitch setting of the apps.

As Zell ET and Zell MT have the same user interface, for easier discrimination of both apps the letters "ET" or "MT" are displayed at the left bottom:

In the versions 1.1 of the apps we have spread the stops to two manuals and added a coupler. Even though the real instrument has only one manual, and elsewhere we are rather reluctant to add elements that are not present at the original, we did not want to forgo this simple means to increase the musical versatility.

As it is common for harpsichord with two manuals, the lower manual now carries 8', 4' and lute stop, the upper manual the other 8'. The lower manual can be coupled to the upper manual. The stops knobs at the screen are arranged according to their affiliation to the manuals.

Starting with version 1.3, the note range of Zell ET is extended from C - d3 to FF - f3. The needed sound data was created from existing sound material by using "simple pitch shifting" of the Wavosaur program. The concerned MIDI note numbers:

Usedto create
36 C 29 F
37 C#30 F#
38 D 31 G
39 D#32 G#
40 E 33 A
41 F 34 A#
42 F#35 B
84 C 87 D#
85 C#88 E
86 D 89 F

About the Sample Sets

The sample sets which underly both apps were recorded by Pere Casulleras and members of the Museu de la Música de Barcelona as well as the Escola Superior de Música de Catalunya. Because of the complicated acoustical circumstances and the constructional conditions in the museum (e.g. a continuously running air conditioning system) this was a quite challenging and time-consuming process. Think of the fact that the very long fade-out sound of each single note was recorded, and also the sounds at key release. In spite of these circumstances, and due to faithful postprocessing, sample sets have resulted that deliver a realistic impression of the instrument and are a great pleasure to make music with. Using the version adapted to equal temperament, a large range of keyboard pieces can be played, but the meantone original has its own charm as well.

The sample sets are freely available at http://samplesets.esmuc.info resp. http://casacota.cat and can for example be used with GrandOrgue as well. We would like to express our thankfulness to the creators for giving permission to incorporate the WAV files in our apps, and also to the museum for maintaining and caring for this beautiful instrument.

About the Harpsichord

According to Wikipedia, three instruments of the Hamburg harpsichord builder Christian Zell have survived, one from 1728, one from 1737 and one from 1741. The instrument in the Museu de la Música de Barcelona is the 1737 harpsichord and has the following sounds:

Name Notes
8' I C-d3
8' II C-d3
4' C-d3
Lute Stop affects 8' I

The picture in the Gallery view of the apps, which shows the 1737 harpsichord at its exhibition place in the museum and served as a base for the app icons and for the app store artwork, is from the Wikipedia article. In the MIMO (musical instrument museums online) there is another nice photo. We used this photo when we crafted the background picture of the apps' Console views.

Demo Videos

Composition Link
William Edmund, Jigg in G Minor YouTube
thesoundtestroom: App-Review YouTube

Polaron.de App-Übersicht Napo / Virtuelle Orgel-Apps de en

Zell ET / MT

App-Version: 1.3 / 1.2
Napo-Version: 4.21 / 4.20

freigegeben 2018-06-13 / 2018-02-28

Audiobus Compatible

Über die Apps

Zell ET ("Equal Temperament", gleichstufige Stimmung) und Zell MT ("Meantone Temperament", mitteltönige Stimmung) sind zwei iOS-Anwendungen, die es Ihnen ermöglichen, die Samplesets des Christian Zell-Cembalos des Museu de la Música de Barcelona auf einem mit Ihrem iOS-Gerät verbundenen MIDI-Keyboard zu spielen. Die beiden Apps basieren auf dem Napo-Framework. Bitte lesen Sie die Napo-Dokumentation und insbesondere das Napo-Benutzerhandbuch, um seine Möglichkeiten und Beschränkungen kennenzulernen.

Es gibt darüberhinaus ein App-Bündel aus Zell ET und Zell MT zum gleichen Preis wie eine einzelne App. Wer eine der beiden Apps erwirbt, kann also später die zweite mittels "Bundle Completion" kostenlos runterladen. Wer nur eine der Apps verwenden möchte, braucht nur diese runterzuladen und kann so Speicherplatz auf dem Gerät sparen.

Zell ET Zell MT Zell ET + Zell MT

Napo ist ursprünglich auf Orgelinstrumente zugeschnitten. Daher die folgenden Anmerkungen:

Zu beachten ist außerdem, daß Zell ET auf 440 Hz umgestimmt ist, Zell MT aber wie das Originalinstrument auf 415 Hz beruht. Dies kann mit der Tonhöheneinstellung der Apps geändert werden.

Da Zell ET und Zell MT die gleiche Benutzeroberfläche haben, werden zur leichteren Unterscheidung der beiden Apps links unten die Buchstaben "ET" oder "MT" angezeigt:

In den Versionen 1.1 der Apps haben wir die Register auf zwei Manuale verteilt und eine Koppel hinzugefügt. Zwar hat das echte Instrument nur ein Manual, und wir sind sonst sehr zurückhaltend, was das Hinzufügen von Elementen betrifft, die beim Original nicht vorhanden sind, aber auf diese einfache Maßnahme zur Erhöhung der musikalischen Vielseitigkeit wollten wir nicht verzichten.

Wie es bei zweimanualigen Cembalos gängig ist, liegen auf dem unteren Manual nun 8', 4' und Lautenzug, auf dem oberen Manual der andere 8'. Das untere Manual kann an das obere gekoppelt werden. Die Registerknöpfe auf dem Bildschirm sind sowohl im Breit- als auch im Hochformat so angeordnet, wie es der Zugehörigkeit zu den Manualen entspricht.

Ab Version 1.3 ist der Notenumfang von Zell ET von C - d3 auf FF - f3 erweitert. Die hierfür benötigten Klangdaten wurden aus vorhandenem Klangmaterial mit dem Programm Wavosaur durch "Simple Pitch Shifting" abgeleitet. Die betreffenden MIDI-Notennummern:

Verwendetum zu erstellen
36 C 29 F
37 C#30 F#
38 D 31 G
39 D#32 G#
40 E 33 A
41 F 34 A#
42 F#35 H
84 C 87 D#
85 C#88 E
86 D 89 F

Über die Samplesets

Die Samplesets, die den beiden Apps zugrundeliegen, wurden von Pere Casulleras und Mitarbeitern des Museu de la Música de Barcelona sowie der Escola Superior de Música de Catalunya aufgenommen. Wegen der schwierigen akustischen Verhältnisse und der baulichen Gegebenheiten im Museum (z.B. eine ständig laufende Klimaanlage) war dies ein äußerst anspruchsvoller und zeitaufwendiger Vorgang. Man bedenke, daß der sehr lange Ausklingvorgang jeder einzelnen Note vollständig aufgezeichnet wurde, ebenso die Geräusche beim Loslassen der Tasten. Trotz der genannten Umstände und dank gewissenhafter Nachbearbeitung sind hier Samplesets entstanden, die einen naturgetreuen Eindruck vom Instrument geben und beim Musizieren viel Freude bereiten. Mittels der auf gleichstufige Stimmung angepaßten Variante läßt sich eine große Bandbreite an Stücken für Tasteninstrumente spielen, doch auch das mitteltönige Original hat seinen Reiz.

Die Samplesets stehen unter http://samplesets.esmuc.info bzw. http://casacota.cat frei zur Verfügung und können zum Beispiel auch mit GrandOrgue verwendet werden. Für die Erlaubnis, die WAV-Dateien in unsere Apps einzubauen, sind wir den Erstellern dankbar, ebenso dem Museum für den Erhalt und die Pflege dieses schönen Instruments.

Über das Cembalo

Laut Wikipedia sind von dem Hamburger Cembalobauer Christian Zell drei Instrumente erhalten, eines von 1728, eines von 1737 und eines von 1741. Das Instrument im Museu de la Música de Barcelona ist das Cembalo von 1737 hat ein Manual und die folgenden Klänge:

Name Noten
8' I C-d3
8' II C-d3
4' C-d3
Lautenzug wirkt auf 8' I

Das Bild in der Galeriesicht der Apps, das das 1737-Cembalo an seinem Ausstellungsplatz im Museum zeigt und das auch als Grundlage der Icons der Apps und der App-Store-Grafik diente, stammt aus dem englischsprachigen Wikipedia-Artikel. Im MIMO (musical instrument museums online) befindet sich ein weiteres hübsches Foto, mit dessen Hilfe wir das Hintergrundbild der Spieltisch-Ansicht der Apps gebastelt haben.

Demo-Videos

Komposition Link
William Edmund, Jigg in G-Dur YouTube
thesoundtestroom: App-Review YouTube