Return to the Thafknar Support Page Return to the Thafknar User Manual

The Files view

The Files view is built of up to four sections, each of which shows the files of a certain type and exists only if there are any files of the respective type. The specifics of each of the four sections will be described below.

At the top right of the Files view there is an action button, which opens a selector for the type of operation: Sorting, Copying/Importing, Deleting and iCloud.

When you select Sorting, you will be presented another menu with the entries by date, by length, and by name, furthermore by date, reversed etc. The meaning of these options is obvious. The currently selected sorting method is marked with a hook. This setting affects only the Audio Files section. Cancelled recordings are ordered by date, impulse archive files and image files are ordered by name.

Copying/Importing gives you a menu with two entries:

Deleting opens a menu with deletion actions:

Finally, selecting iCloud gives you the option to move all audio files from the device to iCloud or vice versa.

Now we come to the specifics of the four sections of the Files view.

Audio Files section

This is a list of all audio files in the app's documents directory, whether they were created by the app's audio recorder, uploaded by iTunes File Sharing, imported from the media library, or handed to the app by Document Interaction.

Thafknar supports iCloud to make it easy to share files with your other iOS devices, with your Mac, or with other apps. When you enable iCloud Drive for Thafknar in the device settings, you see an icon to the left of each audio file which indicates if the file is stored locally (iPhone symbol) or in iCloud (cloud symbol). The action menu that you get by long-tapping a file has an entry for moving the file from the device to iCloud or vice versa.

When you select an audio file, you get play controls at the bottom of the view and volume controls either at the left or at the bottom of the view (the location is configurable in the Settings view). Tap the file again to deselect it. When an audio file is selected, the slider shows the playing position and can be moved to jump to a different position. You can also long-tap the time display and enter the number of seconds. During playback, the label in the tab bar shows the elapsed time:

If you have activated reverb in the Parameters view, then when you select a file in the list, reverb will be added when you play this file. However, when you select a file whose name has the suffix "+ Reverb", the app will deactivate the reverb.

The behaviour is this way because the suffix "+ Reverb" is appended by the Copy with reverb function, which shall be described shortly. However, if you would like to add a second layer of reverb, you can, after selecting the file, still reactivate the reverb in the Parameters view.

When you later select a file that does not have this suffix, the app will restore the previous state. I.e. when reverb was / was not active before you selected the file with the suffix, the reverb will / won't be active when you later select a file without the suffix.

Deactivated reverb is indicated by "‐" as the icon of the Parameters view:

You can delete an audio file by swiping its entry to the left. By long-tapping you select the file and get an action menu with a subset of the following options:

If a file is being used for a Sounding Preset, then this is indicated by a button symbol before its name:

You will get a warning when you try to delete a file of this kind. When you rename an audio file, all affected presets are modified automatically.

Cancelled Recordings section

Because it may happen that you cancel a recording by accident, or cancel it by intention but decide later that it was not so bad after all, we thought it would be a good idea to preserve the files in the first instance. Remember, however, that cancelled recording are kept only if the appropriate option in the Settings view is set.

The action menu that you get by long-tapping a cancelled recording has options to play the recording, to restore it to the Audio Files section, to rename it, or to move it from the device to iCloud or vice versa. Swipe to the left to delete a cancelled recording.

Impulse Response Archives section

The Files view does also serve for managing impulse response archives in the app's documents directory. An impulse response archive is a zip file with extension zip or irset, containing impulse response files. You can use iTunes File Sharing to transfer impulse response archives. You can also use the Download zip archive function that you find in the action menu of the Convolution tab of the Parameters view. Or you can use Document Interaction, for example by long-tapping e-mail attachments or tapping a suitable link in a web page. Again, you can share IR archives with your other iOS devices via iCloud. For more details about impulse response file management, see here.

As usual, you can delete a file by swiping its entry to the left, while long-tapping opens a menu to unpack the archive to the impulse response library, as well as the usual rename etc. functions. Even when you have unpacked an impulse response archive, it is a good habit to preserve the archive in the documents directory. This helps keeping the impulse response library tidy. If you don't need an impulse response set, you can delete it from the library and possibly re-install it later by unpacking the archive once again.

Image Files section

This section shows image files that you have uploaded to the app with any of the common methods or (in Thafknar 5.2 and later) taken with the camera or imported from the photo library. The images are intended to be used as button images for the presets grid view that is new in version 5.0 of Thafknar (see here for a description of this feature). For example, images of guitar amplifiers would be appropriate if you use Thafknar for cab simulation.

The Fender Guitar Amplifier image in this screenshot is a Wikimedia Commons preview file, see commons.wikimedia.org.

Image files that are linked to a preset are handled like audio files that are used in a Sounding Preset, i.e. they are marked with a button image, they can be deleted only after a warning, and renaming leads to an automatic modification of all affected presets.