Polaron.de Apps Overview Napo / Virtual Organ Apps de en

StrandOrgan

App Version: 8.4
Napo Version: 4.10

released 2016-06-23

Audiobus Compatible

About the App

StrandOrgan is an iOS application which allows you to play Lars Palo's sampleset of the Strand organ of the church in Kalvträsk, Sweden, on a MIDI keyboard connected to your iOS device. StrandOrgan is based on the Napo framework. Please read the Napo documentation and in particular the Napo user manual to learn about its features and limitations.

StrandOrgan makes use of the (non-extended, originally tuned part of the) Kalvträsk Church sampleset. The app's Gallery view shows photos that are part of the sampleset package. The stop button images and the Console view's background image are derived from one of these photos.

While StrandOrgan 1.0 - 4.0 used the beta 1 version of the sampleset, which had 44.1 kHz / 16 bit, StrandOrgan 5.0 switched to the beta 2 version, which has 48 kHz / 24 bits. For the app, only 16 bits of the sampleset files are used, as we did not want to spend additional 50% of memory and memory bandwidth for a questionable improvement of the sound quality that nobody hears under real conditions. However, the sample rate of the beta 2 sampleset was kept for StrandOrgan. This means that the app now works with 48 kHz or with downsampled files at 24 kHz.

StrandOrgan 6.0 extended the note range up to the high c. Furthermore, starting with StrandOrgan 6.0, the app makes use of the noise files (blower noise, keys noise, stop knobs noise) that are part of the beta 2 sampleset. In the General / Acoustics section of the Settings view, the user can choose whether these sounds will be played or not. With StrandOrgan 7.0, the volumes of the noises can be configured, and MIDI velocity can be used to control the amplification of the keys noise.

About the Sampleset

The Kalvträsk Church sampleset is provided by Lars Palo under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.5 license, see http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5/. Four your convenience, all needed files of the sampleset are included in the app, but you can also download the set independently from http://www.familjenpalo.se/vpo/download if you would like to use it with other software (e.g. GrandOrgue).

StrandOrgan 1.0 and 2.0 were provided under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 license. As this does not make much sense for software, and as the app is in fact not a derived work of the sampleset but a means of using the sampleset, these license conditions have been removed for StrandOrgan 3.0. StrandOrgan is free and will stay free (apart from some additional functionality that is available as in-app purchases), and you may use recordings created with StrandOrgan in any way, commercial or non-commercial. However, we ask you to give credit to Lars Palo as the sampleset creator.

About the Organ

According to Lars Palo's documentation, this organ was built in 1839 by Per Zacharias Strand for the church in Burträsk and relocated to Kalvträsk around 1903. Apart from an electric blower, it is in its original state.

The organ is a single-manual (54 keys) instrument with seven ranks, three of them divided in bass and diskant stops (bass = lowest octave, diskant = above), and a constantly coupled pedal (27 keys) without own stops. Fugara 8' has no pipes at the lowest octave. The organ's pitch is 436 Hz. This is the stops specification:

Name Notes
Principal 8' Bass C-B
Principal 8' Diskant c0-f3
Gedackt 8' C-f3
Fugara 8' c0-f3
Octava 4' Bass C-B
Octava 4' Diskant c0-f3
Qvinta 3' C-f3
Octava 2' C-f3
Trumpet 8' Bass C-B
Trumpet 8' Diskant c0-f3

Sound Examples

The following is a beautiful piece of Lars Guldbrand, recorded with StrandOrgan 2.0 running on an iPad 2. It shows what can be done when the app is used in combination with a MIDI sequencer and a program like GarageBand. Lars created this recording by playing single tracks in different registrations and subsequent mixing. An independent pedal is simulated by transposing tracks, and reverb is added by GarageBand. There is quite some work involved in this! Future versions of Napo shall offer better support for this kind of music production.

Composition MP3
Lars Guldbrand: Sonatin 4.2 MB

And a nice recording of BWV 601, played by Rob Peebles:


Listen to on SoundCloud.

Demo Videos


View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

Polaron.de App-Übersicht Napo / Virtuelle Orgel-Apps de en

StrandOrgan

App-Version: 8.7
Napo-Version: 4.20

freigegeben 2018-02-16

Audiobus Compatible

Über die App

StrandOrgan ist eine iOS-Anwendung, die es Ihnen ermöglicht, Lars Palos Sampleset der Strand-Orgel der Kirche in Kalvträsk, Schweden, auf einem mit Ihrem iOS-Gerät verbundenen MIDI-Keyboard zu spielen. StrandOrgan basiert auf dem Napo-Framework. Bitte lesen Sie die Napo-Dokumentation und insbesondere das Napo-Benutzerhandbuch, um seine Möglichkeiten und Beschränkungen kennenzulernen.

StrandOrgan verwendet das Kalvträsk Church-Sampleset bzw. dessen nicht-erweiterten, original gestimmten Teil. Die Galerie-Sicht der App zeigt Fotos, die Teil des Sampleset-Pakets sind. Die Bilder der Registerzüge und das Hintergrundbild der Spieltisch-Sicht sind einem dieser Fotos entnommen.

Während StrandOrgan 1.0 - 4.0 die Beta 1-Version des Samplesets verwendeten, die 44.1 kHz / 16 Bit hatte, wechselte StrandOrgan 5.0 zur Beta 2-Version, die 48 kHz / 24 Bit hat. Für die App werden nur 16 Bit der Sampleset-Dateien verwendet, weil wir wegen einer fragwürdigen Verbesserung der Klangqualität, die unter echten Bedingungen keiner wahrnimmt, nicht zusätzliche 50% Speicher und Speicherbandbreite opfern wollten. Die Samplerate des Beta 2-Samplesets hingegen wurde für StrandOrgan beibehalten. Das bedeutet, daß die App nun mit 48 kHz oder mit runtergerechneten Dateien bei 24 kHz arbeitet.

StrandOrgan 6.0 hat den Notenbereich bis zum hohen C erweitert. Überdies verwendet die App beginnend mit StrandOrgan 6.0 die Geräuschdateien (Gebläsegeräusch, Tastengeräusche, Registerwechselgeräusche), die Teil des Beta 2-Samplesets sind. Im Bereich Allgemein / Akustik der Einstellungen-Sicht kann der Anwender wählen, ob diese Geräusche gespielt werden sollen oder nicht. Mit StrandOrgan 7.0 kann auch die Lautstärke dieser Geräusche eingestellt werden, und MIDI-Velocity kann benutzt werden, um die Verstärkung der Tastengeräusche zu steuern.

Über das Sampleset

Das Kalvträsk Church-Sampleset wird von Lars Palo unter der Lizenz Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.5 zur Verfügung gestellt, siehe http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5/. Um es Ihnen bequem zu machen, sind alle benötigten Dateien des Samplesets bereits in der App enthalten, aber Sie können das Set auch unabhängig von http://familjenpalo.se/vpo/download runterladen, falls Sie es mit anderer Software (zum Beispiel GrandOrgue) verwenden möchten.

StrandOrgan 1.0 und 2.0 standen unter der Lizenz Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0. Da dies für Software wenig Sinn ergibt und die App in der Tat kein vom Sampleset abgeleitetes Werk ist, sondern ein Mittel, das Sampleset zu verwenden, wurden diese Lizenzbedingungen für StrandOrgan 3.0 weggelassen. StrandOrgan ist frei und wird frei bleiben, und Sie können mit StrandOrgan erstellte Aufnahmen auf beliebige Weise verwenden, kommerziell oder nichtkommerziell. Wir bitten Sie aber, dabei Lars Palo als den Urheber des Samplesets zu nennen.

Über die Orgel

Gemäß Lars Palos Dokumentation wurde diese Orgel 1839 von Per Zacharias Strand für die Kirche in Burträsk gebaut und um 1903 nach Kalvträsk verlegt. Abgesehen von einem elektrischen Gebläse ist sie noch im Originalzustand.

Die Orgel ist ein einmanualiges (54 Tasten) Instrument mit sieben Pfeifenreihen, wovon drei in Baß- und Diskant-Register (Baß = unterste Oktave, Diskant = darüber) geteilt sind, und einem fest angekoppelten Pedal (27 Tasten) ohne eigene Register. Fugara 8' hat in der tiefsten Oktave keine Pfeifen. Die Orgel ist auf 436 Hz gestimmt. Dies ist die Disposition:

Name Noten
Principal 8' Bass C-B
Principal 8' Diskant c0-f3
Gedackt 8' C-f3
Fugara 8' c0-f3
Octava 4' Bass C-B
Octava 4' Diskant c0-f3
Qvinta 3' C-f3
Octava 2' C-f3
Trumpet 8' Bass C-B
Trumpet 8' Diskant c0-f3

Klangbeispiele

Komposition Link
Lars Guldbrand (eigenes Werk): Sonatin 4.2 MB (MP3 file)
Rob Peebles: BWV 601 SoundCloud
Michael Atallah, Michelle Maltais: Toi Notre Dame SoundCloud

Das hübsche Stück von Lars Guldbrand, aufgenommen mit StrandOrgan 2.0 auf einem iPad 2, zeigt, was man machen kann, wenn die App in Verbindung mit einem MIDI-Sequenzer und einem Programm wie GarageBand benutzt wird. Lars hat diese Aufnahme durch Spielen einzelner Spuren in unterschiedlichen Registrierungen und nachfolgendem Mischen erzeugt. Ein unabhängiges Pedal wurde durch das Transponieren von Spuren geschaffen und Hall mit GarageBand hinzugefügt. Dahinter steckt also einige Arbeit!

Demo-Videos

Komposition Link
Michel Corrette, Les Folies d'Espagne YouTube
Gaspard Corrette, Concert pour les Flûtes YouTube
Mark Lloyd Music: Georg Philipp Telemann, Vater unser im Himmelreich YouTube
Mark Lloyd Music: Charles Gounod, L'Angelus YouTube
Zé Osório, Cathedral for all YouTube