Polaron.de Apps Overview Napo / Virtual Organ Apps de en

MenzelOrgan

App Version: 6.4
Napo Version: 4.10

released 2016-07-02

Audiobus Compatible

About the App

MenzelOrgan is an iOS application which allows you to play Lars Palo's Bureå Funeral Chapel sampleset on a MIDI keyboard and a MIDI pedal connected to your iOS device. MenzelOrgan is based on the Napo framework. Please read the Napo documentation and in particular the Napo user manual to learn about its features and limitations.

MenzelOrgan makes use of the (non-extended part of the) Bureå Funeral Chapel sampleset (version 1.0). The app's Gallery view shows photos that are part of the sampleset package. The stop button images and the Console view background image are derived from one of these photos. Furthermore, beginning with MenzelOrgan 2.0, the app contains impulse response files of Fokke van Saane, see http://fokkie.home.xs4all.nl/IR.htm.

As you can see in the screenshot of the Console view, the pedal coupler is depicted by a smaller instance of a stop knob image instead of an image of the real coupler lever. This is because it felt strange to have the image of a foot lever in a board of knobs that are operated by touching with the fingers. And it looked just plain ugly.

Starting with MenzelOrgan 5.0, the app includes virtual keyboards. In landscape mode, the stop buttons at the left side control the bass, the buttons at the right side control the discant. In portrait mode, however, the layout is counter-intuitive: The buttons at the top control the bass, the buttons at the bottom control the discant. We will change this as soon as Napo supports the definition of different layouts for landscape and for portrait mode.

About the Sampleset

The Bureå Funeral Chapel sampleset is provided by Lars Palo under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.5 license, see http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5/. The sampleset is included in the app, but you can also download it independently from http://www.familjenpalo.se/vpo/download if you would like to use it with other software (e.g. GrandOrgue).

About the Organ

According to Lars Palo's documentation, this organ in Bureå, Sweden, was built in 1990 by Johannes Menzel Orgelbyggeri AB. It is a single-manual (56 keys) instrument with five manual ranks, divided in bass and discant stops (bass = lowest octave, discant = above), and a pedal (27 keys) with one rank. This is the stops specification:

Manual
Salicional 8' c0-b0 c1-g3
Gedakt 8' C-b0 c1-g3
Voix Celeste 8' c0-b0 c1-g3
Rörflöjt 4 C-b0 c1-g3
Principal 2' C-b0 c1-g3
Tremulant

Pedal
Subbas 16' C-d1

Coupler
Manual/Pedal

Sound Examples

The following examples were recorded with MenzelOrgan 1.0 running on an iPod touch 4g:

Composition WAV M4A WAV (✩) M4A (✩)
Friedrich Wilhelm Zachow: Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr 10.3 MB 4.4 MB 10.3 MB 4.3 MB
Friedrich Wilhelm Zachow: Christ lag in Todesbanden 15.8 MB 5.9 MB 15.8 MB 5.7 MB
Go tell it on the mountain (✶) 10.2 MB 4.5 MB 10.2 MB 4.3 MB
My Lord what a mornin (✶) 12 MB 5.4 MB 12 MB 5.1 MB
Georg Friedrich Händel: Sarabande in d mit Variationen (+) 25.3 MB 11.2 MB 25.3 MB 10.8 MB

(✩) Reverb added with Audacity (AUMatrixReverb, Medium Hall 3 setting).
(✶) Spirituals, Edition Nagel 1308, Bärenreiter-Verlag.
(+) Orgelstücke alter Meister, Edition Nagel 1304, Bärenreiter-Verlag.

Here we have a very nice recording of Walter Zielke, also done with MenzelOrgan 1.0:

Composition WAV M4A WAV (✩) M4A (✩)
Gustaf Hägg: Bön 71.7 MB 14.7 MB 71.7 MB 13.4 MB

(✩) Reverb added with Altiverb.

Demo Videos


View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

Polaron.de App-Übersicht Napo / Virtuelle Orgel-Apps de en

MenzelOrgan

App-Version: 6.7
Napo-Version: 4.20

freigegeben 2018-02-20

Audiobus Compatible

Über die App

MenzelOrgan ist eine iOS-Anwendung, die es Ihnen ermöglicht, Lars Palos Sampleset der Menzel-Orgel der Friedhofskapelle in Kalvträsk, Schweden, auf einem mit Ihrem iOS-Gerät verbundenen MIDI-Keyboard und MIDI-Pedal zu spielen. MenzelOrgan basiert auf dem Napo-Framework. Bitte lesen Sie die Napo-Dokumentation und insbesondere das Napo-Benutzerhandbuch, um seine Möglichkeiten und Beschränkungen kennenzulernen.

MenzelOrgan verwendet das Bureå Funeral Chapel-Sampleset (Version 1.0) bzw. dessen nicht-erweiterten Teil. Die Galerie-Sicht der App zeigt Fotos, die Teil des Sampleset-Pakets sind. Die Bilder der Registerzüge und das Hintergrundbild der Spieltisch-Sicht sind einem dieser Fotos entnommen. Außerdem enthält die App seit MenzelOrgan 2.0 Impulsantwortdateien von Fokke van Saane, siehe http://fokkie.home.xs4all.nl/IR.htm.

Wie Sie im Bildschirmfoto der Spieltisch-Ansicht sehen können, wird die Pedalkoppel durch ein kleineres Exemplar eines Registerzugbilds dargestellt anstatt durch ein Bild der echten Koppel. Dies, weil es befremdlich gewesen wäre, ein Bild eines Fußhebels in einer Registerzugtafel zu haben, die durch Berühren mit den Fingern bedient wird. Außerdem hätte das schlichtweg häßlich ausgesehen.

Seit MenzelOrgan 5.0 beinhaltet die App virtuelle Klaviaturen. Im Querbild-Modus steuern die linksseitigen Registerknöpfe den Baß, die rechtsseitigen den Diskant. Im Hochformat hingegen ist die Anordnung gegen die Intuition: Die oberen Knöpfe steuern den Baß, die unteren den Diskant. Wir werden dies ändern, sobald Napo unterschiedliche Anordnungen für Quer- und Hochformat unterstützt.

Über das Sampleset

Das Bureå Funeral Chapel-Sampleset wird von Lars Palo unter der Lizenz Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.5 zur Verfügung gestellt, siehe http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.5/. Um es Ihnen bequem zu machen, sind alle benötigten Dateien des Samplesets bereits in der App enthalten, aber Sie können das Set auch unabhängig von http://familjenpalo.se/vpo/download runterladen, falls Sie es mit anderer Software (zum Beispiel. GrandOrgue) verwenden möchten.

Über die Orgel

Gemäß Lars Palos Dokumentation wurde diese Orgel 1990 von Johannes Menzel Orgelbyggeri AB in Bureå, Schweden, gebaut. Sie hat ein Manual (56 Tasten) mit fünf Pfeifenreihen, geteilt in Baß- und Diskantregister (Baß = unterste Oktave, Diskant = darüber), und ein Pedal (27 Tasten) mit einem Register. Dies ist die Disposition:

Manual
Salicional 8' c0-b0 c1-g3
Gedakt 8' C-b0 c1-g3
Voix Celeste 8' c0-b0 c1-g3
Rörflöjt 4 C-b0 c1-g3
Principal 2' C-b0 c1-g3
Tremulant

Pedal
Subbas 16' C-d1

Koppel
Manual/Pedal

Klangbeispiele

Die folgenden Beispiele wurden mit MenzelOrgan 1.0 auf einem iPod touch 4g aufgenommen:

Komposition WAV M4A WAV (✩) M4A (✩)
Friedrich Wilhelm Zachow: Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr 10.3 MB 4.4 MB 10.3 MB 4.3 MB
Friedrich Wilhelm Zachow: Christ lag in Todesbanden 15.8 MB 5.9 MB 15.8 MB 5.7 MB
Go tell it on the mountain (✶) 10.2 MB 4.5 MB 10.2 MB 4.3 MB
My Lord what a mornin (✶) 12 MB 5.4 MB 12 MB 5.1 MB
Georg Friedrich Händel: Sarabande in d mit Variationen (+) 25.3 MB 11.2 MB 25.3 MB 10.8 MB

(✩) Hall mit Audacity zugefügt (AUMatrixReverb, Medium Hall 3-Einstellung).
(✶) Spirituals, Edition Nagel 1308, Bärenreiter-Verlag.
(+) Orgelstücke alter Meister, Edition Nagel 1304, Bärenreiter-Verlag.

Hier noch eine sehr schöne Aufnahme von Walter Zielke, ebenfalls mit MenzelOrgan 1.0 gemacht:

Komposition WAV M4A WAV (✩) M4A (✩)
Gustaf Hägg: Bön 71.7 MB 14.7 MB 71.7 MB 13.4 MB

(✩) Hall mit Altiverb zugefügt.

Und eine ebenso hübsche Aufnahme von John Stone:

John Stone, Blow Northern Wind SoundCloud

Demo-Videos

Komposition Link
John Stanley, Voluntary VII, Adagio YouTube
thesoundtestroom: App-Review YouTube