Polaron.de Apps Overview Napo / Virtual Organ Apps de en

MarcMoerd

App Version: 1.5
Napo Version: 4.20

released 2018-02-24
Audiobus Compatible


Listen to on SoundCloud. Thanks to Rob Peebles.

About the App

MarcMoerd is an iOS application which allows you to play Ariaan Hoogendijk's sampleset of the Marcussen organ of the (former) St. Stefanuskerk in Moerdijk, Netherlands, on up to three MIDI keyboards and a MIDI pedal connected to your iPad (with exception of iPad 1). MarcMoerd is based on the Napo framework. Please read the Napo documentation and in particular the Napo user manual to learn about its features and limitations.

For the app's GUI we have adopted the stops layout of the sampleset, which differs slightly from the layout at the real organ. Some stop names have been broken to two lines to improve readability on the iPad screen.

The above iTunes artwork image, as well as the app's icons, were created by retracing a Wikimedia Commons image by Bert Wisgerhof (license CC BY 3.0), which is also part of the images gallery of the app. The background pattern of the Console view was created by using a console photo at brabantorgel.nl (see below).

MarcMoerd 1.0 was featured by The Sound Test Room. Verdict: "superb", "built for professionals." You can find the video below in the Demo Videos section.

There is also a free app MarcMoerd3o with the mid three octaves of the Marcussen/Moerdijk organ.

About the Sampleset

The Marcussen sampleset was one of the first commercially available samplesets and does to this day wow by its sound and versatility. At marcussenhauptwerk.nl you can get versions for Hauptwerk and GrandOrgue and even a Soundfont version. Listen to the recordings at contrebombare.com made with this sampleset and Hauptwerk.

For the MarcMoerd app, we have processed the loops of the sample files with crossfading because Napo (in contrast to other software) does not crossfade while playing the files. Furthermore, we altered a few of the Pedal Mixtur files to get rid of 'click' artefacts.

About the Organ

Marcussen & Søn, a renowned Danish organ builder company, crafted this neo-baroque instrument for the St. Stefanuskerk in Moerdijk in 1964. When the church was closed in 2013, the organ was relocated to the St.-Joannis Baptistkerk in Klundert. There is a video at YouTube of the dismounting process, and at brabantorgel.nl you can see pictures of the organ at its old and at its new home.

The organ has three manuals (56 keys), a pedal (30 keys) and a total of 28 ranks, including some very nice reed ranks:

Huvudvaerk (C-g3)
Principal 8' Oktav 2'
Rørfløjte 8' Mixtur 2 Kor
Oktav 4' Dulcian 16'
Spidsfløjte 4' Trumpet 8'

Rygpositiv (C-g3)
Gedakt 8' Nasat 1 1/3'
Principal 4' Scharf 4 Kor
Gedaktfløjte 4' Sesquialtera 2 Kor (f0-g3)
Gemshorn 2' Krumhorn 8'
Tremulant R

Brystvaerk (C-g3)
Trægedakt 8' Sivfløjte 1'
Rørfløjte 4' Regal 8'
Principal 2' Tremulant B

Pedal (C-f1)
Principal 16' Basun 16'
Oktav 8' Trompet 8'
Oktav 4' Skalmeje 4'
Mixtur 2 Kor'

Couplers
HV + RP P + HV
HV + BV P + RP
RP + BV P + BV

Usage with a Launchpad

Starting with version 1.3, the app is able to control the lamps of a Novation Launchpad MK2, see the corresponding section in the Napo user manual, and includes a default configuration for this, which can be loaded via the action menu of the Settings view. For this app, it would have been unfavourable to put the buttons for the combination banks and combinations in the bottom two rows. Instead, they are in the right two columns, which allowed an allocation where the stop buttons are arranged similar to the portrait mode of the Console view:

In accordance with the Console view, the left top is the Huvudvaerk, the left bottom the Pedal, the right top the Brystvaerk, and the right bottom the Rygpositiv. Basically, white buttons represent principals and flutes, red is for reeds, yellow for mixtures and similar stops, orange for tremulants, and green for couplers.

Sound Examples

This is the soundtrack of the below YouTube video which shows the usage of a Napo app for rendering MIDI files to sound:

Composition MP3
J.S. Bach: Passacaglia in C minor (BWV 582) 22.5 MB

Demo Videos


View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

Auf YouTube ansehen.

Polaron.de App-Übersichts Napo / Virtuelle Orgel-Apps de en

MarcMoerd

App-Version: 1.5
Napo-Version: 4.20

freigegeben 2018-02-24

Audiobus Compatible

Über die App

MarcMoerd ist eine iOS-Anwendung, die es Ihnen ermöglicht, Ariaan Hoogendijks Sampleset der Marcussen-Orgel der (vormaligen) St. Stefanuskirche in Moerdijk, Niederlande, auf bis zu drei mit Ihrem iPad verbundenen MIDI-Keyboards und einem MIDI-Pedal zu spielen (ausgenommen iPad 1). MarcMoerd basiert auf dem Napo-Framework. Bitte lesen Sie die Napo-Dokumentation und insbesondere das Napo-Benutzerhandbuch, um seine Möglichkeiten und Beschränkungen kennenzulernen.

Für die graphische Oberfläche der App haben wir die Registeranordnung des Samplesets übernommen, die sich leicht von der Anordnung an der echten Orgel unterscheidet. Einige Registernamen wurde auf zwei Zeilen umgebrochen, um die Lesbarkeit auf dem iPad-Schirm zu verbessern.

Das obige iTunes-Bebilderung und ebenso die Icons der App sind durch Nachzeichnen eines Wikimedia Commons-Bildes von Bert Wisgerhof (Lizenz: CC BY 3.0) entstanden, das auch in der Bildergalerie der App enthalten ist. Das Hintergrundmuster der Spieltisch-Sicht ist unter Zuhilfenahme eines Fotos aus brabantorgel.nl (siehe unten) entstanden..

MarcMoerd 1.0 wurde bei The Sound Test Room besprochen. Urteil: "superb", "für Profis gemacht". Sie finden das Video unten im Demo-Videos-Abschnitt.

Es gibt auch eine freie App MarcMoerd3o mit den mittleren drei Oktaven der Marcussen/Moerdijk-Orgel.

Über das Sampleset

Das Marcussen-Sampleset war eines der ersten kommerziell erhältlichen Samplesets und begeistert noch heute durch seinen Klang und seine Vielseitigkeit. Auf marcussenhauptwerk.nl können Sie Versionen für Hauptwerk und GrandOrgue und sogar eine Soundfont-Version bekommen. Hören Sie sich die Aufnahmen auf contrebombare.com an, die mit diesem Sampleset und Hauptwerk gemacht wurden.

Für die MarcMoerd-App haben wir die Loops der Sample-Dateien mit einer Überblendung versehen, weil Napo (im Gegensatz zu anderer Software) nicht während des Abspielens der Dateien überblendet. Überdies haben wir einige Dateien der Pedal-Mixtur bearbeitet, um 'Klick'-Artefakte loszuwerden.

Über die Orgel

Marcussen & Søn, eine renommierte dänische Orgelbaufirma, hat dieses neobarocke Instrument 1964 für die St. Stefanuskirche in Moerdijk gebaut. Als die Kirche 2013 geschlossen wurde, wurde die Orgel in die St.-Joannis Baptistkirche in Klundert versetzt. Auf YouTube gibt es ein Video des Abbauvorgangs, und auf brabantorgel.nl können Sie Bilder der Orgel am alten und am neuen Standort sehen.

Die Orgel hat drei Manuale (56 Tasten), ein Pedal (30 Tasten) und insgesamt 28 Register, einschließlich einiger sehr schöner Zungenregister:

Huvudvaerk (C-g3)
Principal 8' Oktav 2'
Rørfløjte 8' Mixtur 2 Kor
Oktav 4' Dulcian 16'
Spidsfløjte 4' Trumpet 8'

Rygpositiv (C-g3)
Gedakt 8' Nasat 1 1/3'
Principal 4' Scharf 4 Kor
Gedaktfløjte 4' Sesquialtera 2 Kor (f0-g3)
Gemshorn 2' Krumhorn 8'
Tremulant R

Brystvaerk (C-g3)
Trægedakt 8' Sivfløjte 1'
Rørfløjte 4' Regal 8'
Principal 2' Tremulant B

Pedal (C-f1)
Principal 16' Basun 16'
Oktav 8' Trompet 8'
Oktav 4' Skalmeje 4'
Mixtur 2 Kor'

Koppeln
HV + RP P + HV
HV + BV P + RP
RP + BV P + BV

Verwendung mit einem Launchpad

Ab Version 1.3 kann die App die Lampen eines Novation Launchpad MK2 ansteuern, siehe auch den zugehörigen Abschnitt im Napo-Benutzerhandbuch, und enthält eine Voreinstellung hierfür, die über das Aktionsmenü der Einstellungen-Sicht geladen werden kann. Es wäre bei dieser App unvorteilhaft gewesen, die Knöpfe für Kombinationsbänke und Kombinationen in die unteren beiden Zeilen zu setzen. Statt dessen die beiden rechten Spalten zu nehmen, hat eine Belegung ermöglicht, bei der die Registerknöpfe ähnlich wie in der Spieltisch-Sicht in Portrait-Darstellung angeordnet sind:

Entsprechend der Spieltisch-Sicht ist links oben das Huvudvaerk, links unten das Pedal, rechts oben das Brystvaerk und rechts unten das Rygpositiv. Grob gesehen stehen weisse Knöpfe für Prinzipale und Flöten, rote für Zungenregister, gelbe für Mixturen und ähnliche Register, orangefarbene für Tremulanten und grüne für Koppeln.

Klangbeispiele

Komposition Link
Johann Sebastian Bach: Passacaglia c-Moll (BWV 582) MP3-Datei, 22.5 MB
Rob Peebles: J. S. Bach: Wer nur den lieben Gott läßt walten (BWV 642) SoundCloud

Die obige Aufnahme der Passacaglia c-Moll ist die Tonspur aus dem unten folgenden YouTube-Video, das die Verwendung einer Napo-App zum Vertonen von MIDI-Dateien zeigt.

Demo-Videos

Komposition Link
Johann Ludwig Krebs, Bourrée YouTube
Johann Sebastian Bach, Nun komm' der Heiden Heiland YouTube
"Johann Sebastian Bach", Präludium in e-Moll (BWV 555) YouTube
Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck, Toccata (SwWV 284) YouTube
Melchior Schildt, Preambulum g-moll YouTube
Mark Lloyd Music: Bedrich Smetana, Praeludium YouTube
Johann Sebastian Bach: Allegro (BWV 592) YouTube
Grant Colburn: Ballo per Valente YouTube
Wiedergabe einer MIDI-Datei mit einer Napo-App (BWV 582) YouTube
thesoundtestroom: App-Review YouTube