Polaron.de Apps Overview Napo / Virtual Organ Apps Jeux d'orgues project de en

Jeux d'orgues

App Version: 6.3
Napo Version: 4.10

released 2016-07-02

Audiobus Compatible


Listen to on SoundCloud. Thanks to Rob Peebles.

About the App

The Jeux d'orgues app is an iOS application which allows you to play the sampleset of the Stiehr-Mockers organ of the protestant church in Romanswiller, France, on up to two MIDI keyboards and a MIDI pedal connected to your iPad. It was developed in collaboration with Joseph Basquin, the creator of the Jeux d'orgues project. The Jeux d'orgues app is based on the Napo framework. Please read the Napo documentation and in particular the Napo user manual to learn about its features and limitations. If you would like to test-drive your iOS device and MIDI hardware, use the free Jeux d'orgues Mini.

To get a decent polyphony, at least an iPad 2 or iPad 3, and to enjoy the convolution reverb, at least an iPad 4 is recommended for this app. However, with lower polyphony and reduced samplerate, and using iOS reverb or the sample's included reverb, it can also be run on an iPad 1 ‐ see the sound examples below.

The Gallery view of the app shows photos made by Joseph when he recorded the sound of the organ pipes. Our thanks go also to Graham Goode for his work on the sample files and the GUI elements.

As usual, the app tries to replicate the configuration of the real organ and the look of the real stops board. However, as couplers in Napo do currently not couple through, i.e. do not work transitively, we softened this puristic approach and added a coupler from the Rückpositif to the Pedal.

Version 2.0 of Jeux d'orgues was the first Napo app that included convolution reverb. The impulse responses are courtesy of Fokke van Saane who allows free usage of these files, see http://fokkie.home.xs4all.nl/IR.htm. Thanks, Fokke! Starting with version 5.0 of the app the user can upload additional impulse response files into the app.

About the Sampleset

The Jeux d'orgues sampleset, the precursor of Jeux d'orgues 2, was one of the first pipe organ samplesets, its initial version being available as a soundfont in the year 2000. Jeux d'orgues 2, the Stiehr-Mockers sampleset, followed in 2001 and was groundbreaking. This sampleset, despite being 16 years old, still produces super realistic sounds, and with its diversified collection of stops, it is a great pleasure to play with. Listen to the recordings contrebombarde.com, created with Hauptwerk. The sampleset's modest memory requirements (only about 350 MB for 21 ranks in CD quality) make Jeux d'orgues a perfect choice when you like to have a full-fledged virtual pipe organ on your iPad but are tight with SSD space.

All needed files of the Jeux d'orgues 2 sampleset are included in the app, but you can also download the sampleset independently from http://www.jeuxdorgues.com/ if you would like to use it with other software. It is available in seven different formats! If you are an Android user who has got astray to this iOS web page for some reason, then don't despair! Using Opus #1 you can play Jeux d'orgues 2 on your Android device.

About the Organ

The Stiehr-Mockers organ in Romanswiller was installed in 1843, but was remodelled several times. You can read about its history at http://decouverte.orgue.free.fr/orgues/romanspr.htm or http://www.pykett.org.uk/RomanswillerOrgan.pdf. The organ is a two-manual (54 keys) instrument with 17 manual ranks and a pedal (27 keys) with four ranks. This is the stops specification:

Grand orgue (Great, C-f3)
Bordun 16' Floete 4'
Montre 8' Doublette 2'
Bordun 8' Cornett 5 rgs (c1-f3)
Salicional 8' Fourniture 3 rgs
Octav 4' Trompete 8' baß (C-b0)
Trompete 8' disc (c1-f3)

Positif de dos (Rückpositif, C-f3)
Bordun 8' Tierce 1 3/5'
Prestant 4' Cymbale 3 rgs
Nazard 2 2/3' Hautbois 8'
Doublette 2' Tremulant

Pédale (C-d1)
Subbaß 16' Prestant 4'
Floete 8' Trompete 8'

Coupler
Pedalcoppel Manualcoppel

Sound Examples

The following examples were recorded with the Jeux d'orgues app 1.0 running on an iPad 3:

Composition WAV M4A
Girolamo Frescobaldi: Ricercare con obligo del Basso come appare 37.4 MB 18.1 MB
Johann Sebastian Bach / Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto a-Moll, BWV 593, Adagio 30.4 MB 13.8 MB
"Johann Sebastian Bach": Präludium g-Moll, BWV 558 17.5 MB 10 MB
"Johann Sebastian Bach": Präludium F-Dur, BWV 556 14.7 MB 7.2 MB

And some examples created with an iPad 1:

Composition WAV M4A
Gustav Merkel: Ach Gott, wie manches Herzeleid 7.6 MB 3.7 MB
Michael Praetorius: Sinfonia 5.2 MB 2.8 MB
Christian Heinrich Rinck: Andante e-Moll 13.6 MB 7.7 MB

Finally, to give you an impression of the convolution reverb of Jeux d'orgues app 2.0, the first few notes of Léon Boëllmann's Suite Gothique played with various impulse responses on an iPad 4:

Location Impulse response length WAV M4A
Bathroom 1.1 s 4.4 MB 2.1 MB
Schellingwoude Church 1.9 s 4.7 MB 2.1 MB
Small Factory Hall (Transformer house close) 2.9 s 4.6 MB 2.1 MB
Factory Hall 5.3 s 5.4 MB 2.4 MB

Demo Videos


View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

View on YouTube.

Listen to on SoundCloud.

Polaron.de App-Übersicht Napo / Virtuelle Orgel-Apps Jeux d'orgues-Projekt de en

Jeux d'orgues

App-Version: 6.6
Napo-Version: 4.20

freigegeben 2018-02-28

Audiobus Compatible

Über die App

Die Jeux d'orgues-App ist eine iOS-Anwendung, die es Ihnen ermöglicht, das Sampleset der Stiehr-Mockers-Orgel der evangelischen Kirche in Romanswiller, Frankreich, auf bis zu zwei mit Ihrem iPad verbundenen MIDI-Keyboards und einem MIDI-Pedal zu spielen. Sie wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Joseph Basquin, dem Schöpfer des Jeux d'orgues-Projekts, entwickelt. Die Jeux d'orgues-App basiert auf dem Napo-Framework. Bitte lesen Sie die Napo-Dokumentation und insbesondere das Napo-Benutzerhandbuch, um seine Möglichkeiten und Beschränkungen kennenzulernen. Falls Sie Ihr iOS-Gerät und Ihre MIDI-Hardware ausprobieren möchten, verwenden Sie das freie Jeux d'orgues Mini.

Um eine annehmbare Polyphone zu bekommen, ist für diese App wenigstens ein iPad 2 or iPad 3 zu empfehlen, und um den Faltungshall zu genießen, mindestens ein iPad 4. Mit eingeschränkter Polyphonie und verringerter Abtastrate und mit iOS-Hall oder dem Eigenhall der Samples kann die App aber auch auf einem iPad 1 laufen – siehe Klangbeispiele unten.

Ab Version 6.4 läuft die App auch auf iPhone / iPod touch, aber die Registerschalter sind natürlich nur auf neueren Geräten mit hinreichend großem Bildschirm bequem zu bedienen. Als Alternative bietet sich die Steuerung der Register über MIDI an.

Die Galerie-Sicht der App zeigt Fotos, die Joseph gemacht hat, als er den Klang der Orgelpfeifen aufzeichnete. Unser Dank gilt auch Graham Goode für seine Arbeit an den Sampledateien und den GUI-Elementen.

Wie gewohnt, versucht die App, die Ausstattung der echten Orgel und das Aussehen der Registerzüge nachzubilden. Da aber Koppeln in Napo derzeit nicht durchkoppeln, d.h. nicht transitiv sind, haben wir diesen puristischen Ansatz ein bißchen aufgeweicht und eine Koppel vom Rückpositiv zum Pedal zugefügt.

Version 2.0 von Jeux d'orgues war die erste Napo-App mit Faltungshall. Die Impulsantworten wurden mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Fokke van Saane zur Verfügung gestellt, der eine freie Verwendung dieser Dateien erlaubt, siehe http://fokkie.home.xs4all.nl/IR.htm. Danke, Fokke! Seit Version 5.0 der App kann der Anwender zusätzliche Impulsantwortdateien in die App laden.

Über das Sampleset

Das Jeux d'orgues-Sampleset, der Vorläufer von Jeux d'orgues 2, war eines der ersten Pfeifenorgel-Samplesets und in einer Anfangsversion als Soundfont im Jahr 2000 verfügbar. Jeux d'orgues 2, das Stiehr-Mockers-Sampleset, folgte 2001 und war bahnbrechend. Dieses Sampleset liefert trotz seines Alters von 16 Jahren noch immer überaus naturgetreue Klänge, und mit seiner vielseiten Auswahl an Registern gibt es Spielfreude ohne Ende. Hören Sie sich die mit Hauptwerk erstellten Aufnahmen auf contrebombarde.com an. Der bescheidene Speicherbedarf des Samplesets (nur etwa 350 MB für 21 Register in CD-Qualität) machen Jeux d'orgues zu einer ausgezeichneten Wahl, wenn Sie eine vollwertige virtuelle Pfeifenorgel auf Ihrem iPad oder iPhone haben möchten, aber wenig SSD-Platz haben.

Alle benötigten Dateien des Jeux d'orgues 2-Samplesets sind in der App enthalten, aber Sie können das Sampleset auch unabhängig von http://jeuxdorgues.com/ runterladen, falls Sie es mit anderer Software verwenden möchten. Es steht in sieben verschiedenen Formaten zur Verfügung! Falls Sie ein Android-Anwender sind, der sich irgendwie auf diese iOS-Webseite verirrt hat, verzweifeln Sie nicht! Mittels Opus #1 können Sie Jeux d'orgues 2 auf Ihrem Android-Gerät spielen.

Über die Orgel

Die Stiehr-Mockers-Orgel in Romanswiller wurde 1843 errichtet, aber mehrfach umgebaut. Auf http://decouverte.orgue.free.fr/orgues/romanspr.htm oder http://pykett.org.uk/RomanswillerOrgan.pdf können Sie einiges über ihre Geschichte lesen. Die Orgel ist ein zweimanualiges (54 Tasten) Instrument mit 17 Manualregistern und einem Pedal (27 Tasten) mit vier Registern. Dies ist die Disposition:

Grand orgue (Hauptwerk, C-f3)
Bordun 16' Floete 4'
Montre 8' Doublette 2'
Bordun 8' Cornett 5 rgs (c1-f3)
Salicional 8' Fourniture 3 rgs
Octav 4' Trompete 8' baß (C-b0)
Trompete 8' disc (c1-f3)

Positif de dos (Rückpositiv, C-f3)
Bordun 8' Tierce 1 3/5'
Prestant 4' Cymbale 3 rgs
Nazard 2 2/3' Hautbois 8'
Doublette 2' Tremulant

Pédale (C-d1)
Subbaß 16' Prestant 4'
Floete 8' Trompete 8'

Koppeln
Pedalcoppel Manualcoppel

Klangbeispiele

Die folgenden Beispiele wurden mit der Jeux d'orgues-App 1.0 auf einem iPad 3 aufgenommen:

Komposition WAV M4A
Girolamo Frescobaldi: Ricercare con obligo del Basso come appare 37.4 MB 18.1 MB
Johann Sebastian Bach / Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto a-Moll, BWV 593, Adagio 30.4 MB 13.8 MB
"Johann Sebastian Bach": Präludium g-Moll, BWV 558 17.5 MB 10 MB
"Johann Sebastian Bach": Präludium F-Dur, BWV 556 14.7 MB 7.2 MB

Einige mit einem iPad 1 erstellte Beispiele:

Komposition WAV M4A
Gustav Merkel: Ach Gott, wie manches Herzeleid 7.6 MB 3.7 MB
Michael Praetorius: Sinfonia 5.2 MB 2.8 MB
Christian Heinrich Rinck: Andante e-Moll 13.6 MB 7.7 MB

Darbietungen auf SoundCloud:

Komposition Link
Rob Peebles: David N. Johnson, Trumpet Tune in A Major SoundCloud
Rob Peebles: David N. Johnson, Processional in D SoundCloud

Schließlich, um Ihnen einen Eindruck vom Faltungshall der Jeux d'orgues-App 2.0 zu geben, die ersten paar Noten von Léon Boëllmanns Suite Gothique, gespielt mit verschiedenen Impulsantworten auf einem iPad 4:

Ort Impulsantwortlänge WAV M4A
Bathroom 1.1 s 4.4 MB 2.1 MB
Schellingwoude Church 1.9 s 4.7 MB 2.1 MB
Small Factory Hall (Transformer house close) 2.9 s 4.6 MB 2.1 MB
Factory Hall 5.3 s 5.4 MB 2.4 MB

Demo-Videos

Komposition Link
Johann Sebastian Bach, Präludium E-Moll (BWV 555) YouTube
Regina Clara im Hoff, Bassa imperiale YouTube
thesoundtestroom: App-Review YouTube